Deliberations and Resources on Radical Christianity

What Kind of Extremist?

Someone dear to me, a little while ago, criticised me for having extremist views, and I presume they continue to think of me this way. Today, I was sent a quote which I think adequately sums up my opinion on and response to such a criticism:

“But though I was initially disappointed at being categorized as an extremist, as I continued to think about the matter I gradually gained a measure of satisfaction from the label. Was not Jesus an extremist for love; ‘love your enemies, bless them that curse you’… Will we be extremists for hate or for love? Will we be extremists for the preservation of injustice or for the extension of justice?”
– Martin Luther King Jr, Letter From Birmingham Jail

7 responses

  1. mountainguy

    Well, according to Mr Luther King’s quote, there’s the option of being extremist in both sides: right, or wrong, peace or war, justice or injustice, hamburgers or tofu…

    Anyway, I’d rather use the word radical when in the proper context.

    goodbye

    January 21, 2008 at 10:03 pm

  2. Mountainguy said:
    “Well, according to Mr Luther Kingโ€™s quote”

    Dr. Luther King, actually. Just sayin’๐Ÿ˜‰

    January 21, 2008 at 10:50 pm

  3. mountainguy

    hahaha, thanx for the correction

    January 22, 2008 at 12:28 am

  4. A favorite:

    “Extremism in the defense of Liberty is no vice; Moderation in the pursuit of justice is no virtue.” — Barry Goldwater

    I so owe you an email. I’m slowly catching up on post-oodles-of-papers life. I think I owe my grandmother four emails. Oy.

    January 22, 2008 at 2:02 am

  5. Haha, hi Lorien! Don’t worry about not having emailed… I assumed you’d just grown tired of me. I hope the work isn’t driving you too hard into the ground.

    January 22, 2008 at 12:16 pm

  6. He was an inspiring man for sure.

    January 22, 2008 at 3:10 pm

  7. Nay, I’m simply academically lazy and overachieving.๐Ÿ™‚

    January 22, 2008 at 5:47 pm

Leave a Reply

